Tethering two iOS devices via bluetooth

Posted on April 2, 2014

0


Tethering is a feature I love about my phone (and my mobile provider) for mobile internet and also for easing the pain when changing your home ISP. If you want to tether a bluetooth enabled device with an iOS device, it makes a lot of sense to use bluetooth instead of Wifi, since the energy consumption is significantly lower.

I had tried doing that before without luck, and I just now realised how to do it: the trick is to enable the Bluetooth and Personal Hotspot first on the device offering the [234]G (internet) connection. Once thats done, it can be discovered by other (iOS or Mac OS X) devices. On Mac OS X I still had to click on the Bluetooth symbol, select the iPhone and click on Connect to Network, on iOS the device used the tethered internet connection right away.

Have fun.

Posted in: Uncategorized